Certificates Of Graduation Are Presented To 22

1927 GraduationTITLE:
Certificates Of Graduation Are Presented To 22

Cultural History

An article from unknown newspaper about the 1927 final joint graduation ceremony of Mont Ameona and Mount Pleasant Collegiate Institute.

Staff writer

Unknown newspaper (Cabarrus County, NC). c. May 25, 1927


20th century

c. 25 May 1920

Rights reserved by the source institution.


United States–North Carolina

Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society Museum
All rights reserved by the source institution.

Staff Writer, “Certificates Of Graduation Are Presented To 22,” Mont Amoena: Educating the Young Ladies of Cabarrus Couunty 1859-1927, accessed December 27, 2014, https://montamoena.org/2014/12/28/certificates-of-graduation-are-presented-to-22/

Unknown newspaper, c. May 25, 1927

Fourteen Graduates of Mont Amoena Seminary and 8 of M. P. C. I. Are Given Their Diplomas
Finals for Two Mt. Pleasant Schools Ended Durin Morning and Large Crowd Enjoyed Program
By Staff Correspondent.
Mount Pleasant, May 25,–Several hundred people, including friends and parents, gathered here this morning for the joint graduation exercises of the Mount Pleasant Collegiate Institute and Mont Amoena Seminary. Although lengthy, the final program of the commencement services of these two Lutheran institutions was beautiful and profound.

The joint program began at 10 o’clock and concluded at 1 o’clock this afternoon.

The graduates of Mont Amoena Siminary are: Adelle Anderson, Ruth Barrier, Mary Ella Barrier, Virginia Cline, Miriam Foil, Jessie Isenhour, Ellen Linker, Ruth Lowder, Shirley Moose, Jane Penninger, Frieda Smith, Lena Hahan, Verna Mae Hahn, and Nemea Cox. Little Miss Rachael Smith, the mascot, was on the platform with the graduates.

The graduation class of Mount Pleasant Collegiate Institute includes: C. R. Little, R. E. Davis, F. L. Caughman, F. A. Moser, H. A. McCullough, W. J. Prevo, J. H. Taylor, J. D. Suther, A. W. Caughman and M. L. Little. The later two were given certificates.

Near the conclusion of the program the winners of various school honors were named and medals awarded to them. The distinction list of the Collegiate Institute follows:

Students who did not receive any demerits during the 1926-27 session: J. C. Curry, J. S. Davis, R. E. Davis, H. L. Fisher, C. A. Honeycutt, F. A. Moser, H. B. Shoaf, H. H. Sloop, O. K. Stringer, J. D. Suther and J. H. Taylor.

The students whose general averages was 93 or above, winning first distinction in classroom honors, are: H. A. McCullough, Jr., C. A. Honeycutt and H. E. Barrier.

Those winning second distinction in classroom honors are given below:

C. C. Barringer, A. W. Caughman, H. W. Czarnitzki, W. M. Freed, J. D. Honeycutt, M. L. Little, H. C. McAllister.

The follwoing students did not miss any recitations during the session: G. L. Barrier, R. W. Hotinger, H. B. Shoaf, O. K. Stringer, J. C. Curry, J. L. Daves and D. F. Mendenhall.

J. H. Taylor of the graduation class won the annual oratorical contest held at the commencement exercises this morning. He won over H. A. McCullough, F. A. Moser and J. A. Suther. The title of his impressive oration was “Today, the Index to Tomorrow.”

Mr. Taylor was awarded the oratorical medal at the same time medals were give to other young men of the school who had during the year accomplished some oustanding achievement and honor.

The medal winners include: G. D. Bellis, declaimer; C. A. Honeycutt, debater; J. H. Taylor, orator; J. A. Fowler, military; H. A. McCullough, scholarship and Science; Company B. trophy cup: Capt. H. H. Sloop, First Lieut. F. L. Caughman, Second Lieut. C. A. Honeycutt, Second Lieut. E. L. Miller.

Opening the program this morning the graduating essays of the senior class of Mont Amoena Seminary were read by their authors. The title of the essays and their authors are as follows: Miss Ruth Barrier, “The Gates of the Mind;” Miss Virginia Cline, “No Thorns, No Roses;” Miss Lenna Hahn, “The Ideal American;” Miss Jessie Isenhour, “He Who Labors Conquers;” Miss Jane Penninger, “The Value of Spare Moments;” Miss Freida Smith, “Today’s Call for Justice.”

Miss Helen Thayer won first distinction in classroom honors. The students winning second honors are: Misses Ruth Barrier, Numa Cox, Jessie Isenhour, Gerdie Cook, Janie Dryde, Verna Mae Hahn, Margaret Schulengerger, and Annie Laurie Drye.

The Seminary society cup this year was won by the Alpha chapter of the Bernheim Literary Society.

Prof. McAllister announced that the Mont Amoena Seminary next session, which opens September 14, will be under the management and coordination of the Mount Pleasant Collegiate Institute, and will not be suspended.